Legal Sports Betting – Where You Can Place a Legal Wager in the USA

Sports betting is one of the most popular forms of gambling all over the world, and with the current expansion of state-regulated sports betting in the US, it has grown to become a large and lucrative industry. Betting laws in the US are constantly evolving, with some states now allowing both online and land-based sportsbooks to offer sports betting services. If you’re looking to know where you can legally place a sports bet in the US, you’ve come to the right place.

In this article, we’ll be taking a look at the laws governing sports betting in the US, where you can legally place a sports bet, and other important information to get you started.

Sports Betting in the US: An Overview of the Law

As previously mentioned, the US has seen a recent surge in the number of states that have chosen to legalize and regulate sports betting. Currently, there are fourteen US states with legal sports betting in some capacity. These states are:

  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

The Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (PASPA) made it illegal for any state to authorize sports betting within its borders until a Supreme Court ruling in May 2018 essentially overturned the law.

Types of Sports Betting

In the states where sports betting is legal, bettors can place wagers on both college and professional sports. Different states may have different rules as to the types of bets that can be placed so it is important to make sure you’re familiar with the rules in your state before making any wagers.

Common types of sports bets include:

  • Moneyline
  • Point Spread
  • Totals
  • Futures
  • Prop bets

Where You Can Place a Legal Wager in the USA

In the states where sports betting is legal, you can place a wager at land-based sportsbooks, as well as at online betting sites. As these laws and regulations vary from state-to-state, you will want to make sure you understand the laws in the state you’re in to make sure you’re placing your bets legally.

It’s important to remember that you can only legally place a wager in a state where sports betting is legal. There is no interstate wagering allowed, nor is there any betting with offshore operators or other sites not licensed in the specific states.


Sports betting is increasingly becoming legal in the US, and with regulated sportsbooks popping up all over the country, there are more opportunities than ever to place a legal wager on sports. It’s important to make sure you understand the laws in your state before making any wagers, as each state has different restrictions. Once you’re familiar with the laws in your state, you can easily and safely place a wager at an online or land-based sportsbook in the USA.

Where is sports betting legal in the United States?

Sports betting is currently legal in the states of Delaware, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, West Virginia and New Mexico. Each state may have its own specific regulations, so it’s best to check with your local government before participating in any sports betting.

What states in the US allow sports betting?

As of December 2020, 20 states in the US have legalized some form of sports betting. These states include: Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Montana. While these states have legalized sports betting, some of them still need to go through the process of setting up regulations, so please check your local laws and regulations before participating.

What states in the US have legal online sports betting?

As of February 2021, legal online sports betting is available in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia. Additionally, Arkansas and Montana offer limited digital sports betting options. It’s important to check your state’s laws and regulations before participating in any online sports betting.

What are the legal online sports betting states in the US?

The legal online sports betting states in the US are:

– Nevada

– New Jersey

– Pennsylvania

– West Virginia

– Indiana

– Iowa

– Rhode Island

– Colorado

– Illinois

– Oregon

– Mississippi

– New Mexico

– Arkansas

– Washington D.C.

– Montana

– Tennessee

– New Hampshire

– Michigan

These states have passed legislation and are in the process of launching sports betting operations, so keep an eye out for updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *